Lemon-Blueberry Sour Cream Muffins

I first stumbled upon this recipe over at the Foodess blog, and immediately knew I had to make these muffins.

MUFFINS

Lemon and Blueberry are probably my favourite ingredients to bake with, chocolate of course is number one. So, the minute you combine the two in one recipe it’s like cat nip for me. These were made on an intense baking day. My niece had her first school outing, where contributing a baked good was required. Of course, my sister was all over this. She was already elbow-deep into making Martha’s Devil’s Food Cupcakes and Dark Chocolate Ganache frosted cupcakes when I decided to add to our baked goods pool with these scrumptious delights.

Pre-oven

Insanely easy to toss together, and more importantly, soooo good to eat multiples of after. These are now a staple in my arsenal.  No, really, I’ve baked them three times since. Three batches, and seven weeks later, I figure I may as well share them with the rest of the world.

What you’ll need:

  • 2 cups flour
  • ¾ cup sugar
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • ¼ tsp salt
  • ½ cup melted butter
  • 1¼ cup sour cream
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 egg
  • 2 tsp lemon zest
  • ¼ cup lemon juice
  • 1 cup blueberries

Thankfully, the instructions are dummy-proof.

  1. First off, preheat oven to 375 degrees. Grease or line a 12-cup muffin tin; set aside.
  2. In a large bowl, whisk together flour, sugar, baking soda, baking powder and salt.
  3. In a separate bowl, stir together melted butter, sour cream, vanilla, egg, lemon zest and lemon juice. Add to dry ingredients and stir until just incorporated. Fold in blueberries.
  4. Spoon batter into prepared muffin tin. Bake for 18-22 minutes, until golden brown and tops spring back when lightly pressed.

Post-oven

 

Seriously, make a batch, or ten, and thank me later for sharing the goodness. Excuse me while I go stuff my face.

 

2 thoughts on “Lemon-Blueberry Sour Cream Muffins

Leave a Reply

